WORKOUT #3 (Find your strength)

14 09 2011

I defeated my alarm today. It was set to go off at 6 30. I managed to wake at 6:12am, snooze on my own for exactly 17 minutes, get up and disable it before it could plague my ears with bassless 80’s dance.

Oh yeah. Today was gonna be good.

It was one of those days where you know you’ve won before you even leave bedroom door to the outside world.

Keeping on the theme of compound muscle training, tricep smashing and short breaks, this was my work out for today:

SIT UPS: 15 reps, 3 sets.

SQUATS: 50kg, 8 reps, then 110kg, 10 reps, 3 sets.

TRICEP DIPS: 15 reps, 10 reps, 8 reps

BICEP CURLS (Short Barbell): 15kg, 10 reps, then 35kg, 6 reps, 3 sets, followed by 40kg, 6 reps, two sets, and a rep of 5 (failed on the 6th)

TRICEP PUSHDOWN MACHINE: 150lb, 8 reps, 3 sets

CROSS TRAINER: Random Hill setting, Resistence level 17/20, 20min

Today I really had to dig in to finish that cross trainer workout. I was pretty fatigued at the 15 minute mark, and a steep and sustained hill-climb constituted the next three minutes of the track, before two minutes of down-hill. I didn’t think I would make it. Suddenly – and I say this well aware of how lame it sounds – I found myself whispering under my own breath ‘find your strength’. I was aware that I had the stamina, I just needed to search for it. Find it.

And I found it.

And I won.

Usually if I cop out on my cardio routine I leave the gym feeling pretty stink. Today was not one of those days.

Diet-wise, pretty much the same as workout #2, except with fresh chopped vegetables rather than supermarket packaged salad.

My band’s playing a show tonight (Kings Arms, 7:00pm, $15, come along) so I’ll be in town the whole night. For dinner I’ll look at getting the no-carb Kebab from Kebabs on Queen. This is basically a choice of meat – I’ll have chicken – and fresh salads. Knowing my band, I’ll be conned into going to Denny’s after the show, so if I cave, I’ll aim to buy something carbless, perhaps the chicken satay thing they have on the menu.

Today = win.

Peace

Actions

Information

3 responses

14 09 2011
Robert Cox

Bro any tips on getting my recovery up? Although I’m working out in the afternoons

15 09 2011
hughofeden

That’s something I’m figuring out as well. Protein shakes with fast-release-whey immediately after your work outs are supposed to help. With water as opposed to milk, as I hear that milk slows the release of the proteins. Plenty of water and plenty of sleep is advisable too. I will have to do more research into recovery though.

15 09 2011
Robert Cox

Haha sleep would really help all round for me at the moment

Leave a Reply

