WORKOUT #5 (Fast game’s a good game)

17 09 2011

With a tight 60min on the clock, I had to get in there and do what I needed to do quick

And quick it was.

SIT UPS: 15 reps, 3 sets.

SQUATS: 60kg, 6 reps || 110kg 10 reps, 3 sets

MILITARY BARBELL PRESS: 45kg, 6 reps, 3 sets

TRICEP DUMBBELL EXTENSIONS: 10kg, 8 reps (cross body) followed by 8 reps (hammer head), each arm, 3 sets

CROSS TRAINER: 10 minutes, resistance level 12/20, Random Hill setting

Still, it was a bit of a blah day. Saturday’s usually are, as I’m often our late on friday night and end up going to the gym on saturday morning at around 10am, rather than my usual 6:30am on weekdays.

I think I’m beginning to realize how much a good night’s sleep is important, as well as not disrupting your body’s normal cycles. It felt like I was working at about 75% capacity: the Squats felt heavier than usual, the barbell press was difficult and the tricep extensions killed me slowly.

Perhaps since my body’s adjusted to being fed well before 10am, by the time I went to the gym (I don’t have breakfast beforehand) I was already pretty frickin hungry, so I knew it was bad news as soon as I hoisted up the bar on my shoulders for squats.

That said, no ripped shorts today! whoot.

For breakfast I had a protein shake and a bowl of cereal, I skipped midmorning and for lunch I had another protein shake (with milk this time) with a tuna sandwich (wholemeal bread of course). I should not have skipped a midmorning, but I was pre-occupied doing saturday-morning type things. To make it worse, I skipped late afternoon as I was glued to my imac recording a new song idea. When I’m recording, I feel like I’m in a parallel universe where necessities like food  and using the bathroom are exist in the annoying “distraction” category. This really isn’t a good excuse. My diet on weekends in general let me down, so it’s something I’ll need to be more diligent about.

Peace

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

