WORKOUT #6 (Forward movement)

19 09 2011

New week, new weights.

Always improve. Always go harder.

Always move forward

SIT UPS: 20 reps, 3 sets.

SQUATS: 60kg, 6 reps || 115kg 10 reps, 3 sets

45 DEGREE MILITARY DUMBBELL PRESS: 27.5kg, 8 reps || 27.5kg, 7 reps, 2 sets

TRICEP PULLDOWN MACHINE: (drop sets) 60lB, 50lB, 40lB, 6 reps each, 3 sets

45DLP CALF EXTENSIONS: 14 plates, 12 reps, 4 sets

TRICEP PUSHDOWN MACHINE: 150lb, 8 reps, 4 sets

ROWING MACHINE: 20min, 4.07km

– After a week of daily sit ups and squats I decided it was time to step it up. I increased my sit ups sets from 15 reps to 20 reps, and my squats from 110kg to 115kg. Given how well squatting was last week, along with the success from last nights HEAVY LIFTS #1,  I was tempted to jump to 120kg sets. To be honest, it felt like I could have finished at least one set of 120kg for 10, but probably not three. I remembered the importance of being disciplined with taking small increments and nailing them, rather than getting ahead of myself and failing sets, like I tend to do. 10kg is a bigger increase than you would think! Nevertheless the 115kg sets, albeit not terribly easy, were definitely solid, and I felt a satisfying sense of accomplishment after finishing them.

-I’m still spamming the tricep work outs until october, at which time I will revisit bench press and see if my lockout issue  has been somewhat mitigated. Plus, nice looking triceps do wonders for the general aesthetic appeal of your arm 🙂

– I decided to change up the Cross Trainer with the rowing machine for my cardio routine. This was mainly just to try and cull boredom, but also to give my upper body the chance to do some stamina work. It’s also worth mentioning that about a month back, I rowed daily for 2 weeks and experienced a significant reduction in skinfold around the bicep. This is because the motion and resistance is similar to doing a low-weight high repetition work out, and that sorta thing is known to assist with toning muscle.

Dietwise, I had a bowl of cereal for breakfast with a protein shake, and I’ll probably have some porridge and fruit for midmorning, and a tuna sandwich (wholemeal bread) with salad for lunch, a piece of toast, fruit & nuts and some yoghurt for late afternoon, and a vegetable dish for dinner with chicken. I have been forgetting to bring my mini containers home from work so I can take my protein powder – which is poor form – protein shakes are quite important for muscle development, especially if your diet isn’t particularly abundant in protein. I will remember tomorrow! In fact I’m putting it in my bag right now.

Right now.

Out

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

