WORKOUT #8 (4.5 hours sleep)

23 09 2011

If you wish to work at full capacity, get more than 4 and a half hours of sleep

To get only this amount of sleep and then work out the next morning is a doongie thing to do. For more information about other doongie things to do, go here 

So today I obviously wasn’t working at full capacity. I ought not to make a habit of this.

Here’s all I did today:

SIT UPS: 20 reps, 3 sets.

SQUATS: 60kg, 6 reps || 115kg 10 reps, 3 sets

CLOSE GRIP BENCH PRESS: 50kg, 10 reps || 60kg, 10 reps || 70kg, 10 reps, 2 sets

-Squats and sit ups were feeling a lot better after taking a day off yesterday. Especially squats – the 60kg warm up literally felt like nothing was on my shoulders, and my 115kg reps were a lot quicker and the breaks in between were shorter. Hopefully this means I can move to 120kg with the same rep/set routine next week.

-Close grip bench press was also fairly easy, and I perhaps could have done more sets, or increased the weight. Because I was a doongie and didn’t get much sleep, I was tired and frankly couldn’t be bothered, so I stopped.

Oh yeah. It’s humbling watching a man who is 30kg lighter than you squat repping 170kg (that’s 10kg over my 1RM), but it inspired me at the same time. I will get there. Apparently for my weight I need to be able to 1RM 192kg to be considered an ‘advanced’ squatter, according to these Strength Standards. Hopefully I can manage to bump up 5kg every two weeks. At that rate it will take me 12 weeks – but something tells me I’ll plateau earlier than that, or run into some kinda brick wall. We’ll see.

Diet so far today:

Breakfast

Eggs on toast + Protein shake

Midmorning

Skip (busy at work again. naughty me)

Lunch

Salmon on toast

Laterrrr

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

